Cricket News: ‘Had in serious financial trouble; Ganguly arranged for my stay and diet’: India ‘A’ bowler

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squad for the next four-day series between India A and New Zealand A on Wednesday. from India is Bengal pacemaker Mukesh Kumar. . The 28-year-old received his first India ‘A’ call-up thanks to his performances in the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy season.

Mukesh’s rise to the top hasn’t been easy as the cricketer recently revealed that at one point in his career he had nothing to eat due to financial issues at home. Mukesh said BCCI President Sourav Ganguly who was the head of the Bengal Cricket Association from 2015 to 2019 organized his stay at the Eden Gardens stadium and also took care of his diet.

“I was the youngest of the six but we had serious financial problems. It was Rano (Ranadeep Bose, bowling coach), who spoke to the then CAB secretary, Sourav Ganguly, who arranged my stay at Eden Gardens and my diet has been taken care of,” Mukesh revealed in an interview with PTI.

Mukesh made his first class debut for Bengal in 2015 and has since played a total of 27 games for the team. Mukesh picked 100 wickets in 27 matches with an average of 22.57. He also played 18 List A games and T20 games for Bengal picking 17 and 19 wickets respectively.

Apart from Mukesh, Yash Dayal, Umran Malik, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Kuldeep Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, Rahul Chahar and Prasidh Krishna also had the opportunity to play in the three four-day matches against New Zealand A team. also includes Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajat Patidar, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Tilak Varma, Sarfaraaz Khan and KS Bharat. Priyank Panchal will lead the team in the four-day series.

Indian A team for four-day matches: Priyank Panchal (captain), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraaz Khan, Tilak Varma, KS Bharat (wk), Upendra Yadav (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, Rahul Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar , Yash Dayal, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

India A vs New Zealand A: Full schedule

The first four-day game of the series will be played at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru from September 1-4. The second game will take place at the KSCA stadium in Hubli from September 8 to 11. Action for the third four-day game will once again move to M. Chinnaswamy Stadium from September 15-18.

As for the one-day series, all matches will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. The first game will take place on September 22, followed by the second and third games on September 25 and 27, respectively.

Format Match Date Venue
4 days India A vs New Zealand A – 1st game Sep 1 – Sep 4 Mr Chinnaswamy, Bangalore
4 days India A vs New Zealand A – Game 2 September 8 – September 11 KSCA Rajnagar Stadium, Hubli
4 days India A vs New Zealand A – Game 3 September 15 – September 18 Mr Chinnaswamy, Bangalore
One day India A vs New Zealand A – 1st game Sep 22 MA Chidambaram, Chennai
One day India A vs New Zealand A – Game 2 Sep 25 MA Chidambaram, Chennai
One day India A vs New Zealand A – Game 3 Sep 27 MA Chidambaram, Chennai

Image: PTI

Comments are closed.